Tylers Hill Gravediggers Hut

Nestled in the graveyard of St George’s Church is a Gravediggers Hut which was built in 1907 by a local builder named Jesse Mead.

In 2011 a decision was made to renovate the hut as it was falling apart as a result of 100 years wear and tear and gradual decay.

With financial support from the Parish Council, a local community-based volunteer group was formed and in their spare time rebuilt the hut using identical materials and methods as the original building.  All being well we hope for it to last another 100 years.